Skip to content

decorating for the future

January 22, 2013

Our house is due to close in about a week!  That means I’m busy packing and cutting the weak from the herd (that is taking the stuff I don’t want to our local free box.)  I could swear we sold about 3/4ths of our belongings this summer in a yard sale but getting down to packing it still feels like there’s an awful lot of stuff.  In a couple more weeks we are going to have a furniture sale and hopefully get rid of the bulk of that collection as well.  Yep, we’re gonna go bare bones for a while.  I’m actually looking forward to it.  It’s time for a fresh start in every way.  I can’t tell you how excited I am to be getting a fresh house with fresh bare walls.   An empty canvas!

When we were out house hunting with our realtor we had narrowed it down to two houses.  That night Butch and I were talking over the pros and cons of each one trying to make the choice and I was quiet for a while.  He asked me what I was thinking about.  “Oh,” I sighed, “there is just a lot going on in my mind.  Right now I am simultaneously redecorating two houses at once!”   Was he surprised?  Not one little bit!  We did finally end up with one particular house and the ball is rolling on that purchase as we roll to the end of our other house selling.

So in my down time (what little bit I have) from packing I’ve been playing around with different decorating ideas on Olioboard.  Haven’t heard of Olioboard?  It is a digital mood board tool that you can use to create 2D or 3D visuals for decorating rooms utilizing their extensive library of furniture and accessories by all your favorite brands.  And it’s a whole lot more than that too.  The Olioboard community is a wonderful, friendly bunch of amazing decorators and artists.  If you’ve never tried Olioboard it is free.  You can always upgrade if you want to which does cost a monthly rate, but I’ve been able to do everything I need/want with it in free mode.  What I like most about Olioboard/making mood boards for rooms is that it helps keep you on track.  Not that I have to buy the exact items on my board or that I can’t get something that isn’t on it.  I think it just helps you realize the look you are going for.  And by referring to your mood boards you can decide whether or not something is right for that space instead of bringing home random things and trying to make them work together.

This is one of  my  idea boards for our future living room.

Sturdy Design Living Room

Kinda cool, huh?  You can really get a feel for colors and styles of furniture and how everything will look together.  You can actually put together a whole 3D room.   Here’s another one for a dining room.  This one is a 2D mood board.

Sturdy Design Dining Room Ideas

I guess you might say the look I’m going for is sort of Farmhouse/Industrial with some modern touches thrown in.  The table is something we plan to DIY.  A live edge wood top with some kind of industrial iron legs.   We would love some industrial lighting or to make our own light fixtures with some cool bottles or something unique like that.  I had originally picked out different chairs but they didn’t pass the husband test so I went back and picked out 7 more examples of styles that I thought we could both agree on (although none of them are the color I am imagining.)  I want to keep the room a tad more on the casual side because we are more casual people.  But my husband thinks that table is very classy and doesn’t want to bring it down with casual chairs.  I say it’s like wearing a fancy top and jewelry with a pair of jeans.  They balance each other out not too fancy, not to casual.  And I was completely in love with those curtains (World Market) until I saw the zoomed image and realized they were not the colors I thought they were.  Bummer.   Ha ha, here I am agonizing over curtains for a house that I don’t even live in yet!  Yep, that’s me.

Do you ever decorate spaces in your head?  Have you tried Olioboard?  If not, you definitely should at least go look.  It is very inspiring!

Signature2 blue

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grace permalink
    February 16, 2013 6:27 pm

    Glad I took a peak at your blog today! Olioboard looks awesome. Liz and I can’t wait to try it. (It’s fun having her here with us while she and Sam are in transition. Now just need to get him here too.) It will be so much easier to plan room redos here with Olioboard.

    Seeing the cutouts reminds me of when I was little and Mom would help me decorate the inside of shoeboxes with pictures from the JC Penney catalog (don’t remember if she ever did that with you)…and later on all the elaborate house plans we kids used to draw. Guess we got mom’s decorating genes. :-)

    Anyway…looking forward to having you all closer, and to some Olioboard fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

