Skip to content

no art just writing

February 2, 2009

It was a well kept secret but not for long.  I’ve been writing.  Not many people knew that I was; but I was.  Children’s stories.  I was always telling my husband stories that would pop into my brain.  At his encouragement and enthusiasm I began a while back to write them down.  A funny thing happened when I began to write; more stories would pop into my brain to replace the ones I had saved on the PC.  A few of them got to the place where I felt I could “do something” with them.  Something such as pursue publication.  After almost talking myself out of it a few times I figured something out…1.) If I don’t do anything, then nothing will happen (profound, huh?)  2.) If I try and they say, “no” then I am in no different position than I am already.  3.) If I try and they say, “yes” then…well, then a new door opens and I walk through to see where it takes me.  You might say, “Yeah, well duh, that’s pretty obvious!  You had to figure that out?”  But when you’re talking about making something public that has so much of you involved in it…putting yourself out there for critics to potentially eviscerate your creation, a thing that brings you much joy, then it causes a moments pause at least.   After more enthusiastic encouragement from my husband, I did take the plunge.

Friday morning I got a call from a publisher.  They said, “yes.”   When I say, “I am going to be a published children’s author.” it doesn’t sound like I’m talking about me yet.  Oh yeah, and did I mention I’m also illustrating?!  Yes, that’s right.  Written and illustrated by: (insert name here).  Like I said, it doesn’t sound like me, yet, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it.  And for all those other little stories of mine waiting in the wings; hopefully you’ll get your turn soon enough.  This is just a start and I’m eager to see where this new open door leads me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michele Hardy permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:25 pm

    OK cuz… wow you have been crazy busy!! Now writng childrens books, that is sooo exciting! You have always had a wonderful creative talent and you are obviously taking full advantage! I am so happy for you, of course I will be needing copies for my nieces and nephews!! Now you have my email address… in your free time (what is that right??) drop me a line!!
    Your cuz… Michele

Leave a Reply

