Skip to content

Sonnette, “Beauty”

June 10, 2010

So, after I sent Miss Claire her picture I was informed by her mom, Jessie, that the only thing wrong with it was that there were two missing.  It was my intention all along to make a drawing of the other two girls.  But since I enjoyed getting Claire’s letters  so much, I decided to hold them “hostage” for letters.  I have yet to receive a letter from Sonnette and was going to delay her drawing until I realized that of all the girls, she is the one who calls me when she wants to connect with me.  She may not sit down to write, but she picks up the phone.  Just as good in my book.  That merits a picture.

This girl’s smile makes the sun come out.  Her very expressive face always shows how she’s feeling.  I gave her the nickname “beauty” when she was a baby and her mother told me that she had looked like a lizard when she was born.  At the time I thought it was a horrific thing to say about one’s child.  Not having ever given birth myself, I didn’t understand that was a pretty honest portrayal of a freshly birthed infant.  Thankfully, they don’t stay that way for long; and I must say Sonnette quickly blossomed into quite a lovely girl.  Those huge blue eyes always have a twinkle of mischief (she inherited from her mom) which endears her to me; and she is always quick to give hugs which I can’t ever get enough of.  Now that she lives far far away, I look forward to her phone calls.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Coleman permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:37 pm

    You have captured Claire perfectly, you have evolved into a wonderful artist. Somehow you are capturing their personailty and unique features. Love it. Would you do my granddaughter, if I get you a good picture?

  2. Hannah M. Flom permalink
    June 13, 2010 6:11 pm

    Sandy,

    Once again you have done a fantastic job with this portrait of Sonnette. I haven’t seen her in person for four years but have seen lots of pictures and this is definitely her! I’m looking forward to the one of little Hannah.

  3. jessie roberson permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:18 am

    Sandy, actually I said she looked like a frog. Not a lizard! I would never call my child a lizard. How dare you. Jessie

  4. Rebecca permalink
    February 23, 2011 5:07 pm

    Yes, I see Sonnette. Wonderful work, Sandy.

Leave a Reply

