Skip to content

Cutting Up

December 3, 2010

I’ve been messing around with paper cutting lately.  It intrigues me.  Sort of like a flat sculpture.  You start out with a plain sheet of paper and instead of putting art on it, the paper actually becomes the art.  I’m sure that my method of paper cutting is “unorthodox” at best but I am hoping to refine my skills at this art form as I really do enjoy it.

My first attempt was very simple.  Cut from a sheet of black paper after an outline drawing I had done.  I call it “Compassion”

My next attempt was a design for my Christmas cards this year. I got this idea while doodling one day.  I liked the way the heads came out stacked one above another and the angel’s wings sweeping around to embrace them.  This one is titled “Heavenly Peace.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

