Skip to content

Hannah Bird

February 23, 2011

This little blonde imp and I have an understanding.  She prefers my husband, her “Uncle” Butch, over me.  But that is alright with me, because to be quite honest, I agree with her.  Not that she doesn’t like me, of course, she just really, really, really, likes Butch.  It has been like this ever since she was a baby.  If her Uncle Butch walked into the room she would screech and hold her arms out for him to pick her up.  Hannah, you see, is no dummy.  Even before she was able to form words she understood who she could wrap around her little finger.  Awwww, the heart of an uncle!  He is such a pushover.  When Hannah was four, I stayed with the girls while their parents went to Mexico for 10 days.  It became very clear to both of us that I was certainly no substitute for Uncle Butch.  But when I gave her a present of miniature doll food she turned and looked up at me and said with the sincere honesty that only a child has, “I love you even more than Uncle Butch!”  Yep, I finally edged him out…with bribery.  Not saying I’m proud of it, but for that split second that my name was above my husband’s on the list in this little girl’s heart, well, I felt just like a million bucks.  Guess that would explain why Uncle Butch is such a pushover for our little sweetheart, Hannah.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jessie roberson permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:19 am

    Wow. You most totally pegged her. I LOVE IT!!!

  2. Rebecca permalink
    February 23, 2011 5:08 pm

    Ah! Hannah as Alice, or Alice as Hannah. But definitely Hannah.

Leave a Reply

