Skip to content

Plant Stand Predicament

March 22, 2011

I have this really cute iron plant stand.

See? Cute, right?  I have enjoyed it in my home for many years now.

The curvy legs, the curly basket, it has just the right amount of rust, and its ability to hold plants…these are all great features I love about this piece.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“What is the problem with that?” you may be asking.  The problem is this.  You can only put certain sized pots in it.  The plant that I have in it really needed a bigger home but I didn’t want to get a new plant stand.  The basket on top is only bolted to the gorgeous legs so I decided to remove and replace it with a round table top which I would mosaic. Of course, I was very sad (ha!) to have another crafty project to do!  My wonderful husband showed me how to cut out a round piece of wood then he fixed the bolts into it so that I could tile over the top of them.  Then I just started to play with my collection of tiles until I found a funky pattern that I liked.  At this juncture my husband pointed out to me that my design wasn’t centered.  I told him I had done it that way on purpose.  I don’t always like things to have to be symmetrical or perfectly centered.  I sometimes like playful, funky, off beat things.  He said, “What if you did it like this?” and slightly moved the tiles to center.  Now, usually an artist doesn’t like having their designs messed with but, I have to admit, he was right.  It did look better on center.

Now it is all grouted and done and I love my new plant stand!  It still has the great legs, the rusty goodness, the ability to hold a plant.  But now it is way more functional and flexible.  Could even double as a little end table.  And the curly cute basket that came off is going to have another life out in my garden this summer!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Coleman permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:24 pm

    great job, will look fab in your home

  2. Sandy permalink*
    March 22, 2011 9:26 pm

    thanks, my friend!

Leave a Reply

