Skip to content

A Friend is a Gift

March 31, 2011

I have been working on a birthday present for my friend, Jessie.  I have had this piece for quite some time hanging around waiting for just the right project.  It was painted all plain white when I got it.  Originally it was going to go where my bulletin board over my phone is (see my trash to treasure bulletin board post) but then I realized that I would have no place for a calendar.  So, I saved it until inspiration would hit.  I wanted to make something for Jessie, and when I was looking around my studio at my inventory that piece jumped out at me.  I dry brushed some darker paint called butter pecan on the sides, inside and out, then went over that with a creamy white, then over that with a white white.  I Mod Podged some vintage sheet music onto the background and the top of the shelf.  Then I lightly antiqued it all over with more butter pecan.  I then painted the front of the “pocket” with chalk board paint and stapled a length of jute to the bottom to tie a piece of chalk to.  I’m very pleased with how it turned out (hope she is too!)  So, Jessie, thank you for the gift of your friendship.  I celebrate another year of you!!!              I’m linking up with Talent Tuesday at Vintage Wanna Bee and   Get Your Craft On

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

