Skip to content

Vintage McGuffey’s Primer Table Top

May 15, 2011

I just love projects where you take something ugly and make it beautiful.  Like this table that I have in my guest room for instance.  The picture below is the before shot.

I got it from a friend who moved out of state.  This table fits perfectly in my tiny guest room and it was white like the rest of the furniture in that room.  And it was free.  These were all the good things about the table. But there was a but.  A big huge badonkadonk but in the form of two big beige floor tiles stuck in the top.  I guess if I were going to use this in a kitchen it might be acceptable… I guess.  In a pretty guest room, not so much.  Every time I looked at it I would think  “what can I do to make that table pretty?”  The tiles are glued in tight and barring breaking the table apart, it was looking like the only way to remove them was to take a hammer to the tiles and then chip them out.  That quickly became my last resort.  It just did not sound fun and then there was the problem of something to fill in the hole once the tiles were out.  I wanted something fast, fun, and fabulous.

The other day I was putting something away in the guest room and there was that ugly table top smirking at me again.  And then it hit me!  Eureka!  Of course, my favorite thing – vintage book pages and Mod Podge!  I would cover everything in my house with book pages if I could get away with it.  Seriously.  After the angels stopped singing and the light beam from heaven turned off I ran to get my Mod Podge, a foam brush, and my stash of vintage books collected just for such projects.  I settled on pages from McGuffey’s Eclectic Primer circa 1881.  After figuring the layout of the pages I began painting the medium on the backs of each page and sticking them down.  The tiles are not perfectly smooth and the edges have a crinkled texture too so it wasn’t the easiest to get every page perfectly smooth and neat.  Ok, it was impossible.  But once it dried it really didn’t look bad at all.  In fact, I ended up being quite pleased with it.  A quick fresh coat of white paint and the table was back in business.  It went from Ugh to Ahhhhh in just a few hours.  Bonus…these were all things I had on hand so I didn’t even have to go to the store.  Talk about instant gratification!  Now when I go in the guest room I just get a smile on my face.

I’m linking up to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch

I’m linking up to Furniture Feature Friday at Miss Mustard Seed

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 9:01 pm

    Really darling!

    • Sandy permalink*
      June 14, 2011 12:30 am

      Thank you! And thanks also for visiting my site!

  2. October 7, 2011 4:00 pm

    Your re-do looks amazing! I love what you’ve done with the table. Very inspiring.

    • Sandy permalink*
      October 7, 2011 6:52 pm

      Thanks so much! It was fun.

  3. October 7, 2011 8:16 pm

    Aaaawww, looks deLIGHTful!

    Deborah ♥♥ (visiting happily from http://upcyclingmylife.blogspot.com/… hope you can drop by and say hi!)

    • Sandy permalink*
      October 7, 2011 9:52 pm

      Thanks! It does bring a smile to my face.

Leave a Reply

