Skip to content

A Delightful Day!

June 27, 2011

Today was the day of my book signing at Tales Told Twice.  I woke up to dismal rain and thought, “Oh no! It’s gonna be miserable out there today!”  For the next three hours the weather had me changing my mind on wardrobe choices as it wavered back and forth between cloudy and sunny.  Thank goodness, the sun won out.  It was a super gorgeous day! When I arrived at the book store, Luann (TTT owner & friend) had a wonderful setting for me on her deck with comfy rattan furniture and table and beautiful potted flowers all around.  I settled myself in with my books on display and waited for the people to come. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first to come were a group of ladies, two of them bought my book but were not overly interested in talking. Another woman in the group, however, did want to talk and was quite antagonistic.  Does that sound better than saying she was rude or mean?  Seriously, Lady?  I’m sitting here with my cute children’s book and you want to beat me down? Nice! I guess there has to be that one in every crowd that ruin it for the rest of us.  Luann said she was probably just jealous because she couldn’t write a book.  One good thing was that she came early and got it out of the way.  And may I say, the rest of my visitors made up for her inconsidate manner in spades!!!!!  I met a sweet 4th grade teacher from California who was buying my book to take home and read to her class this coming school year. We had a lovely visit and just knowing that there are teachers out there like her gives me a bit more hope for the our nation’s educational system.  The precious guy in the photo below is only 5 years old and already an avid bird watcher! He was adorable and quite animated in telling me all about the different kinds of birds he had seen.  He loved my book. Awwwww!

There is something about watching children enjoy my book that just makes my heart melt.

Part way through the day, with the sun beating down on my head, Luann came to my rescue and provided a big beach umbrella for me to sit under.  I also enjoyed a turkey wrap and iced chai tea from Coffee a la Mar, which were delicious.  Mmmmmmmm!

There were so many interesting and genuinely nice people who came by,  it certainly made for an enjoyable day.  The last family to stop in before I wrapped things up had the cutest little girl. She was 6 and she was so excited to tell me how she had just learned to ride her bike without training wheels.  And she proudly showed me her scrapes and bruises to prove it.  What a doll she was!  But the best part (here comes another awwww! moment, get ready for it.) Her nickname was, “Little Bird”  How perfect is that, I ask you?  Ok, now all together, “Awwwww!”  I was so tickled that we just had to get a picture taken together.  She was just like the frosting on top of my sweet day!

I am so grateful to Luann at Tales Told Twice for the opportunity and for her generosity and hospitality.  I am also grateful to the wonderful people I met today.  They warmed my heart.  I hope my little book is enjoyed by all.

This is "Little Bird" with her new book about a little bird. Sweet!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Patti Coleman permalink
    June 27, 2011 6:25 pm

    Glad you had a great day my friend.

Leave a Reply

