Skip to content

my search for irony is over

October 14, 2011

I have been busily gearing up for a couple craft fairs this winter.  This summer I started selling pedestal dishes that I make at my friend Mar’s coffee shop.  I find vintagey dishes or any fun/funky dishes that grab me that I think will make a great pedestal.  Then I pair them with either a candle stick or an upside down goblet/glass.   I have been quite pleased with how well they are selling.  So I decided that this year I would take them to some craft fairs along with some other fun items I’ve been making.  My table is covered and the guest room is overflowing from my efforts of the past few days.  I have been putting together pedestal dishes like crazy!  Today I was getting something out of a dish cupboard and I needed to move my own cake pedestal to get to it.  It is a cutie white one with scallops that I love.  As I picked it up to move it … it broke!  I mean just the plate and the stand came apart.  But in the process I almost dropped it which would have had more of a Humpty Dumpty effect on it.  After composing myself from the “oh no!” instant reaction, I just had to laugh.  Well, at least I know how to fix it.

(below is just a small sample of the pedestal dishes I have been making.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Coleman permalink
    October 14, 2011 11:40 pm

    they look great and different! my niece in law did those for her reception.

    • Sandy permalink*
      October 15, 2011 5:47 am

      Thank you! That is a great idea for a wedding, beautiful yet not too pricey. Good seeing you today, my friend!

  2. January 26, 2012 8:31 am

    I love these, Sandy!!! Have you tried selling anything on etsy? I’m going to pinterest you!!!

    • Sandy permalink*
      January 29, 2012 5:49 pm

      Thanks Kc! I’m still working on getting an etsy store going. It’s the shipping from here that I’m having problems with.

Trackbacks

  1. Wooden Tiered Serving Plates & Pedestal Dishes (Tutorial) « a very STURDY design

Leave a Reply

