Skip to content

thrift tip #1 look for fabric at the thrift store

February 24, 2012

I thought it would be fun to share some of my thrifting tips every once in a while.  And since this one is foremost in my mind right now as I’m in the process of making throw pillow covers I thought it was a good place to start.

Is it just me or are throw pillows excessively expensive these days?  Even buying just the pillow cover can give you sticker shock.  So I knew that my throw pillows project would most certainly be a diy-er.  But fabric isn’t getting any cheaper either, let me tell you!  Plus I really wanted an eclectic collection of one-offs for most of my living room pillows.  So I started browsing thrift stores for unique fabrics that could round out my collection.  I looked through sheets, pillow cases, table cloths, shower curtains, skirts, men’s shirts…anything with enough fabric to do something with.  Once I started looking I realized that this was a whole untapped mine of fabric I had been previously ignoring!  And have I been hitting the jackpot!

These fabrics are for multiple different rooms they aren’t all going together – dont’ worry!

I love the graphic print of this dark chocolate and white.  At first I was balking at the idea of paying $6.99 for a skirt but then I realized…$6.99 for a pillow cover?  Are you freakin’ kidding me?  So I bought it.  And look at this lovely vintage table cloth!

I swear I almost screamed when I snagged this baby off the hanger!  Okay, truthfully, I saw it from one aisle over and I literally lunged for it.  I know I’m not the only one who does this…c’mon let’s be honest.  This is going to make some amazing pillows for our master bedroom.  There are a couple of stains but thankfully the sloppy person who deposited them thoughtfully aimed for an area that I can totally work around.  Thank you sloppy person!

Another cool thing that I figured out is that if you buy pillowcases, depending on the size of pillow insert you are using, 3 sides are already finished for you!  Bam!  Fabric for a pillow cover for .99 cents that is already 3/4ths finished for you?  Now those are the kind of diy projects I can really get behind.

Again, if you need more fabric than just a single throw pillow, look in the sheets and table cloths.  I saw a bunch of awesome fabrics that someone should totally be taking advantage of!

What do you shop for at your thrift stores?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

