Skip to content

the case of the boring bookcase – solved!

February 28, 2012

As I said here, our master bedroom is getting a mini makeover.  For the most part it just involves infusing more color into the room.  As part  of that makeover I’ve been restyling the bookcases that function as a combo entertainment center for the TV, storage, and decor.  Our room started out Tiffany blue and brown which…is a pretty color combination but can get very boring, very fast.  The walls are Tiffany blue, the furniture is brown, the accessories? You guessed it! Tiffany blue and brown.  Here is a before shot of what some of the shelves in the bookcase looked like before.

I cringe, I seriously cringe!

Notice how everything blends in?  Here’s a hint – wood on wood with wood accessories – not a good decorating theme!

Ever since I painted my yellow lamp I’ve been crushing on yellow.  It’s sunny,  vibrant, and looks good with almost every other color out there.  I also thought I would add in some grey.  Yep, I’ve totally jumped on the yellow and grey combo craze.   I also punched up the Tiffany blue by adding some brighter turquoise accents.  Now, you might think I’ve got too much color goin’ on up in there, but don’t worry.  It works!  You see, a total redecorating of the room just wasn’t in the cards, or the wallet.  So, ya gotta work with what ya got!  So here is how they look now.

The first thing I did was break up the expanse of brown backdrop by covering the back of the bookcase with vintage book pages.  (Big surprise!)  I love how it makes everything stand out where before everything blended and got lost.  Then I just added some very simple and inexpensive things for color like silk flowers and books.  Some of the stuff I already had; I just moved them from a different room.  That is one of the easiest and cheapest ways to redecorate.  Go “shopping” in other rooms of the house!  I’m not completely finished with this project yet.  I still have a few sections to put book pages on.  Then I will be posting a tutorial for that project.  A couple of the wood accessories will end up getting painted but I haven’t decided what color yet.  I want to live with it like this for a while before I decide.  Here are some more after photos of the restyled bookcase.

our sweet little mexican bowl

sweet little thrift shop find for .99 cents

you can upgrade a plain candle with rub-on transfers

the happy little elephant was also a thrifted item. he's wooden so, of course, got him a coat of paint!

I am much happier with the direction the bookcase and the whole room is going!  I will show full room photos when the makeover is complete.

Have you been restyling or redecorating at your house lately?

I’m linking up over at Between Naps on the Porch – Metamorphosis Monday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Grace permalink
    March 3, 2012 9:59 pm

    I have redecorating ideas running around in my head for several rooms–including the master bedroom–but nothing going on yet. Reading your blog inspires me to get moving on something though. I like the “shopping” from other rooms in the house idea. I would love to go thrift storing with you!

    • Sandy permalink*
      March 4, 2012 2:02 am

      Well, maybe we can do that during our trip! That would be fun!

      • Grace permalink
        March 6, 2012 6:39 am

        I agree, that would be fun! 🙂 Can’t wait to see you!

  2. March 6, 2012 2:26 am

    This is beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Hope to see you on my blog:)

Trackbacks

  1. “Paging all bookcases!” (tutorial) « a very STURDY design

Leave a Reply

