Skip to content

catching my dream

March 28, 2012

I love to surround myself with people who inspire me.  One of the most inspiring gals out there in Blog Land has to be Mandi at Vintage Revivals.  Mandi has her some mad decorating skillz and her room makeovers are epic.  If you haven’t gotten addicted to Mandi’s blog yet, you must go there as fast as you can!  She can think outside the box better than anyone.  In fact, I imagine Mandi would say “What box?”

from Vintage Revivals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Her blog has inspired me more than any other to be bold, go forth and decorate!  So when Mandi recently started a club, the Fearlessly Finding Awesome club (or FFA) of course, I joined.  I think it is important to encourage one another to each follow our own individual dreams and goals and not worry about the latest fads or trying to decorate like someone else (or a magazine page.)  Today Mandi gave us our first club challenge.  To write about the feeling that we want our homes to have.

About a year or so ago I started to realize that I had been playing it safe with my decorating.  I used a lot of neutrals and basic pieces that when combined came out kind of bland.  It did not reflect me or my husband in any way.  Since that time I have begun to completely rethink my home decor and how I can translate “us” into our home in a more personal way.  We are both very creative people.  I am an artist/writer and my husband can build anything. ANYthing.  In fact, we built our first home together during part of our 5 (yes that says five) years of dating before we got married.  To reflect our creative sides I would love to see more color, more unique pieces of both furniture and art, as well as original personalized art made by myself and original furniture by my husband.  We both love to DIY so this is definitely an attainable goal.

from decor8 blog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would also love for our home to reflect the love we share, our happiness, and the comfort we have in each other.  Our home should be first a refuge for us but also a comfortable, warm, inviting space for our guests that makes them understand that what is important to us is relationships.  They should catch a spark of our sense of humor in unexpected ways through our home decor as well.

from BrightBazaar

I don’t think there is a precise term for my decorating style.  I don’t like matching sets of anything. I love vintage things that are aged with a beautiful patina, rusty, worn around the edges, well-loved. Yet I am also drawn to industrial, some modern, and certain ethnic prints and textiles.

from BrightBazaar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My style is truly eclectic.  But that is okay, we are multifaceted people with many diverse interests and creative endeavors.  Our home should be a unique collection of items we love that when put together add up to a picture of us.  Not perfect, but perfectly happy.  “True style has the chance to emerge when you stop worrying about what everyone else is doing, will think, or might say, and do what makes your guts grin.” – Mandi Gubler, Vintage Revivals

perfectly happy

What feelings do you want your house to reflect?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy W. permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:02 pm

    Very well said, Sandy. I enjoyed your post.

    ~ A fellow FFA member 😉

    • Sandy permalink*
      March 29, 2012 12:13 am

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it. See ya round the FFA! 🙂

  2. March 28, 2012 2:07 pm

    Love your inspiration pictures. Way to FFA!

    • Sandy permalink*
      March 29, 2012 12:12 am

      Thanks! It’s just not a post without some pretty pictures! 🙂

  3. March 31, 2012 4:21 pm

    Great Website, Thanks! Keep up the great work.

  4. zoey232001 permalink
    April 2, 2012 1:49 pm

    I also love Vintage Revival – she is very inspiring to me as well. I think it is great you joined her club! I enjoyed your post today!

  5. zoey232001 permalink
    April 2, 2012 1:50 pm

    I LOVE VintageRevival as well. She is definitely doing some cool stuff. I think it is great you joined her club! I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

