Skip to content

I’m a little bit country…ish

April 13, 2012

The second challenge from Mandi of Vintage Revivals for our Fearlessly Finding Awesome club was to take the Home Goods Style Quiz and write about it.

Seems like whenever I take these kinds of quizzes they never quite entirely get me.  As I mentioned in my last FFA challenge post, my style is pretty eclectic so I don’t think it’s possible to fit me completely into one specific style category.  However, I do think that this one in particular did a pretty accurate job of describing a good percentage of my decorating style.  Here is what the quiz said about me:

Sandy, you are a Country Classic

You have a naturally refined sensibility with an appreciation for tradition and history. You value beauty, craftsmanship, and family heirlooms, but you like to open things up with pretty, easy-going pieces like painted wood or distressed furniture, lovely florals and other patterns, and bunches of fresh flowers that give your home a breezy, relaxed feeling. You love unique finds, have a thrifty, creative side, and can make these things work together.

You value comfort. Your home is a warm and open friendly place, and you feel happiest when everyone is cared for and relaxed in your space. Elements like pillows, throws, overstuffed furniture, and good lighting set the mood. You may also enjoy layering different fabrics or mixing patterns to create a cozy effect.

Your Happy Home Colors:

Yellow
So the outcome of Country Classic totally surprised me because I don’t think of my style as Country, but I am a country girl at heart.  I grew up on a large farm in Oregon where my Dad and his Dad were born and raised.  I was surrounded by rooms full of antiques that all had a family history.  The dining room table that my parents still use was brought over in a covered wagon.  Everything has a story and I love that.  So, as I look around my house I realize that my decorating does definitely have strong “country” undertones.  Although I prefer the word “vintage” to “country” because country style decorating brings to my mind the 1980’s version of country decorating with gingham ruffles and bows on everything and oak and shiny brass.  I shudder.   But if you call it vintage then I can get on board with that assessment.  I guess you can take the girl out of the country but you can’t take the country out of the girl.
Things I liked and agreed with in this style quiz for me were:
1. I do appreciate things having a history.  Many of my most special pieces are family heirlooms.
2. I do like painted wood and distressed furniture.
3. The statement, You love unique finds, have a thrifty, creative side, and can make these things work together is dead on.
4. I value comfort. Yes. If you have a gorgeous home but you can’t snuggle into the furniture and get cozy…what is the point?  I want people to be comfortable in my home.  Heck, I want to be comfortable in my home.
5. I enjoy layering different fabrics and mixing patterns. Absolutely. I am most definitely not into matchy matchy!
I also loved the colors that the style quiz pulled for me.  I have been seriously crushing on yellow lately and all those color blocks fit somewhere in my house.  Being a red head I am drawn more to warm colors anyway but living in Alaska has really cemented my love for warm color everywhere in my home.  Only one room in my house has white walls.  When everything is white and cold outside for a good portion of the year you really don’t want your interior to reflect that with all white walls.  One thing I am NOT is afraid of color!  I adore color!
Over all I think that this style quiz was pretty accurate.  Even though I still detest the description of “country”.  I guess I’m just going to have to go about redefining what decorating “country” means! For now I’m sticking with Vintage Eclectic.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grace permalink
    April 15, 2012 12:15 am

    I took the quiz and was country casual. Go figure, we’re both country!

  2. April 16, 2012 4:02 am

    Fun! I want to try this quiz out, too. Thanks for your visit and comment on my drum shade. I hope you try it and it works out well for you! Take care, Jennifer

    • Sandy permalink*
      April 16, 2012 4:38 am

      oh, I can’t wait to make that drum shade. I keep thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

