Skip to content

don’t knock it till you try it.

August 3, 2012

Not that long ago I shared in a post that I really don’t care for the trend of sorting books according to color.  And technically I still have to say that I don’t.   However.

Since we have our house on the market and are in the process of getting ready to move I have started packing a bunch of stuff away in an effort to better stage the house.  “Depersonalize it!” as my friend, Regina, says.  I just figure the less clutter a buyer has to look over to see the house the better.  So while I was cleaning out the bookcases I decided to give the color method a try.  Just for fun.  A kind of don’t knock it till you try it experiment to see what all the fuss is about.

First I culled out every paperback keeping only the nice hard bound books.  Then I removed all the dust jackets (carefully folding them and packing them flat just in case I ever want to use them again.) and sorted them in piles of color.  Then I started to replace them on the shelves.  This took a bit of time because exactly what I predicted would happen in my original post happened.  I became a bit anal about the whole thing.  Half-way through I began muttering about opening a can of worms and my husband just chuckled and shook his head.  He did not get involved.  He is a smart man.  Sorting by color is not as easy as it looks if you are like me.  But over the course of a couple days of fiddling around with it I finally got it worked out in a way I could live with.

And I have to admit.  Just to look at, I actually do like it.  Just to look at.  But please don’t ask me to find a book.  I wouldn’t know where to begin.  And please, please don’t bring up the fact that I only have 2 yellow books because it is driving me crazy!  And no, I will not be styling my book cases like this ever again in the future.  But hey, at least now I can say I tried it.

One thing that I did learn and will use in the future is that I like less books per shelf.  Here is a pathetic before picture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And after…big difference, huh?!  The open uncluttered look feels so good.  I’m digging it in the rest of my house too.  Perhaps I’m turning into a minimalist?  Nah!  But the whole less-is-more idea is definitely sticking with me.

Have you ever tried any decorating trends just for fun or experimented with decorating to see if you liked something?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Coleman permalink
    August 3, 2012 6:30 am

    It looks great, you did a great job

    • Sandy permalink*
      August 3, 2012 5:51 pm

      Thanks Patti! Now we just need to get some buyers in here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

