Skip to content

alterations in progress

April 6, 2012

Here is something I haven’t shared yet.  This is an altered book that I started for myself. 

Most of the art I make is for other people and it goes away.  But I realized that to keep my creative juices inspired I needed something that I could work on that was just me.  An altered book was a great choice too because I can pick it up and work on a page or two and then set it aside till a later date.

So far I have the front cover mostly finished (I will probably always be adding little things here and there) and two pages.  The book is from the 194o’s and is titled Charm and Personality.  It is a pretty horrific “self improvement” book all about how to sit, stand, talk, dress, laugh, & project yourself all in the hopes of getting people to like you.  Makes me shudder to think that the things espoused in that book were seriously taught and held up as standards for women to live by.  Totally explains the 1950’s…totally.  But it is because I found this book so distasteful that I had no qualms whatsoever of artifying it.   Much needed improvements, in my opinion.  First off I added and other Nonsense to the title because that is what I truly thought of it.  Nonsense.  Then I stamped, stenciled, collaged, doodled, and bejeweled it.

The vintage lady cutouts I got from Lunagirl Images.  She has a wonderful collection of vintage images.  The first of the inside pages is a combination of collage and painting.

At the bottom of the page is a chart that was used as a judge’s guide for the Miss Universe Pageant over which I have written Are you freakin’ kidding me?!  They might say it isn’t a “beauty pageant” but don’t let them fool you!  According to the chart if your hips are too wide or your shoulder blades are too pronounced…well lets just say there will not be a crown in your immediate future.

The facing page is free form poetry done by blocking out all but certain words that are already on the page.  It reads: No one is the same / no one can describe many so as to make an accurate analysis to recognize good people.  Nuff said.

I will continue to give updates on my altered book as it progresses.

And sorry about the poor picture quality.  I’m not operating at full capacity right now and also not using my regular computer and familiar programs.  So if things are looking just a bit “off” to you, that is because they are.   🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Sandy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grace permalink
    April 8, 2012 7:03 am

    I’ve wanted to do an altered book for quite awhile now. I like your idea of doing it just for yourself… a page or two here and there whenever you like. That looks like a fun book to work with too. Where in the world did you find it anyway?!?

    • Sandy permalink*
      April 8, 2012 8:01 am

      There was this little hole in the wall, off the beaten path thrift store in Anchorage that I loved to go to for books. You could find the best vintage books there. I always came away with an armload of them for like a buck seventy-five. Seriously! Sadly, it went out of business.

  2. Grace permalink
    April 8, 2012 7:07 am

    Not that I want to get the exact same book. Just wondering what dark, dusty corner it was hiding in. It does give me ideas of kinds of books to look for. I’m afraid I’ll end up picking a book I like too much to alter.

Leave a comment